Around the House

I spend a lot of time in front of my kitchen window.  More now that I’m washing bottles several times a day.  I like my kitchen window.  I have a lot of cool stuff there.  A giant jar of spaghetti.  A bear carved out of a piece of wood with a chainsaw, who is holding two halves of a chestnut core that look like owl faces.  A bar of soap from Hawaii.  A bunch of spoons made out of…something.  A kitchen witch.  A deer antler that holds my hand towel.  Measuring spoons.  Lots of things.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Around the House

  1. The deer antler! You have inspired me! There are plenty of them just lying around at work and I could do with an extra hanger on the kitchen wall. I never thought of using them like that. At work every door has an antler on both sides, so now I never see them as anything but door handles. My vegan sister will hate it too… 🙂

    • I have to ask where you work that there are deer antlers at every door…are you a maid for a wealthy Englishman in 1873 (or whenever Englishmen routinely went on safari and brought home pieces of carcasses to hang on the walls and confound their wives)?

      I’m glad you like it. I was afraid it would look a little…well…like the wall of an Englishman just back from safari. =)

      Glad, also, to give you a way to goad your poor vegan sister. I was a vegetarian for about 3 years as a teenager. I’m sure it was mainly a method of establishing independence and testing my convictions. It ended, though, when my uncle convinced me to just try a bite of his rare, bloody, oh-so-tasty steak at…ironically…The Outback Steakhouse.

      • My workplace is in a huge shed on 30+ acres. Part mechanic, part hunting lodge and partly the home of the boss. When a man lives alone he can decorate in any way he sees fit 😉 Snakes in jars, heads on walls and if a deer shows its face in the paddocks at night it is venison on the bbq for lunch. It is funny, every time a bloke walks in the door for the first time you can see their eyes light up, it is the ultimate man-cave.

        I would love to have a time travelling job although I am not sure I have the temperament for maiding in the 1800’s.

        The vegan sister could do with a bit of traumatizing, that gives me all the more reason to do it!

Leave a Reply

